What is art anyway? Musings from Florence

Sun setting over the Arno River in Florence

Sun setting over the Arno River in Florence

I received a fair amount of questioning after my last blog when I said I didn’t like art. I should have said I don’t like slogging through art galleries and museums. Because I don’t have training in art, I prefer to take pleasure in observing everyday beauty around me.

IMG_9255But this week, I saw paintings in Florence at the Uffizi Gallery that changed my view. (And I was astounded that the Uffizi allowed photographs as long as there was no flash.)

 It wasn’t slogging, because we had a guide through “Walks of Italy.” He provided meaning, connecting what we saw in one room, with one period, to the next room with the following period. I got it. Cimabue, Giotto, Leonardo di Vinci, Botticelli, Michelangelo, Raphael – the appetizer for a feast, if I follow-up with some study of Art History. 

IMG_9286

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9277

IMG_9243

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But I ponder the question of what makes art. What about the marzipan we saw in the window of the candy shop near the Uffizi? It is beautiful. It looked hand-crafted. Is that art?

Are my photographs art? (I would say no to that one.)

Allow me to go even further – the graffiti i see in Italy. Since I don’t understand Italian, I look only at the flow of the penmanship, the juxtaposition of colors and weight of the lines. Devoid of any meaning, I can appreciate the form.

I saw the best graffiti in Venice, perhaps because I spent the most time there, away from the major attractions. We did what the guidebooks told us – meander because you can’t get lost on these small islands. So we wandered in small neighborhoods with few tourists. These places did not worry about cleaning up the graffiti.

But is it art? If you believe that art is in the eye of the beholder, you get to decide.

P.S. If you understand Italian and any of this offends you, Mi scusi!

 

Planning your own trip to Italy? Get my Italy travel tips and my recommendations by clicking here, and send me an email with Italy Travel Tips in the subject line. I’ll even send a sample itinerary. Ciao!

 

Other essays on the Trip to Italy:

Rules for buying veggies in Venice

The sounds of Venice

Clinging to the best of the past – the Cinque Terre

Falling Asleep with Galileo – Pisa

Sensory overload in Florence

The passionate Italian lives in Siena

Evening strolls in Italy

No ordinary Sunday in Rome

Digesting Italy

If you like my blog, you’ll enjoy my book, Manifesting Paradise, available on Amazon. Receive my posts automatically by filling in your email address in the “follow” box at the top of the right column. And please join my mailing list.

About Diane Scheurell

I'm a writer and author. Check out my book, Manifesting Paradise on Amazon, and my blog, ManifestingParadise.com. I talk about Hawaii and the transformation tools I used to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Being present, learnng new things, Personal growth, Travel, Using my transformation tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What is art anyway? Musings from Florence

  1. James Scott says:

    Cool posts

  2. Pingback: Rules for buying veggies in Venice | Manifesting Paradise

  3. Pingback: The sounds of Venice | Manifesting Paradise

  4. Pingback: Clinging to the best of the past – the Cinque Terre | Manifesting Paradise

  5. Pingback: Falling asleep with Galileo – Pisa | Manifesting Paradise

  6. Pingback: Sensory overload in Florence | Manifesting Paradise

  7. Pingback: The passionate Italian lives in Siena | Manifesting Paradise

  8. Rox-Anne says:

    Couldn’t agree more with your sentiments about art, Diane, in that there’s art in way more than just paintings. In fact, some of the graffiti you showed was really creative.

    • Thank you Rox-Anne. I thought the graffiti was beautiful. Though I surprised myself and found that I was being drawn to sculpture. Maybe that is the formal type of art that I can get into.

Leave a comment