Digesting Italy

It’s been a month since we left Italy and I’m still digesting it. For the most part being an ignorant American armed only with English was not an impediment to enjoying the country, and indeed managing the business of buying food, navigating the bus system, or haggling over purse prices.

IMG_8779But despite all my reading/preparation ahead of time, there were the times when I was curious about what I was seeing and no one to ask. I’m pretty sure the poster we saw in the Cinque Terre was a notice about an upcoming referendum on legalizing prostitution. But in the villages of the Cinque Terre?! Seemed so improbable.

Also, why do the Italian municipalities insist on charging to use a toilet? The only free toilets are in museums and restaurants. Even train stations and bus stations charge. Long distance busses do not have toilets on board, though trains do (in this case, free). I guess I’m spoiled, but nothing makes me madder than paying for peeing.

IMG_8340IMG_9042Then there was the random weight machine on a sidewalk along a high traffic road in Pisa. What was that about?

IMG_7882Why do you pay more for your coffee if you drink it sitting down? I did know this ahead of time, but still could not get over people gulping down their brew and running off. This goes against all my beliefs about savoring my morning cup at a leisurely pace. And it is the opposite of the Italians’ practice of spending hours eating dinner. We only got caught once on our first day in Venice after walking for four hours. After that I made my own.

IMG_7824People ask me about my favorite city. That’s easy, Venice. Part of it’s because the city is so intimate with its narrow canals, its many squares too small to be called piazzas, and its roof-top gardens. Part is that we stayed in an area where real people live. I felt that I was seeing the authentic city, especially when we rubbed elbows with locals in the Rialto fresh market (the only place we saw horse meat for sale) and then cooked with real Italian ingredients (not horse meat!).

IMG_7961We saw the rhythm of everyday life whether it was the street-sweepers early in the morning or boats delivering goods to local shops. We learned the value of getting up early and walking to the popular sites before the tourists arrived, and enjoyed them unfrazzled and serene.

We also arrived in Venice before the summer heat settled over Italy, and the apartment was the only one where we didn’t have to climb stairs. Ahhh.

Rome trafficAnd my least-liked city? That is also easy – Rome. It wasn’t like the other Italian cities we visited where we walked everywhere. Venice had no cars and the others limited city-center traffic to delivery, police and emergency vehicles. Not Rome. Six lanes were common, and no one stayed in the lanes anyway, choosing to make their own paths. Vespas darted dangerously among the cars and trucks, and I feared for the people in the little teeny cars who looked as if they could be crushed at any moment. People parked cars wildly, even on the sidewalks and crosswalks.

IMG_9968The important sites are scattered widely, requiring a taxi, the metro or extreme walking stamina to reach them. And once there, it was easy to spend two or three more hours walking within the sites. I lost 10 pounds in Italy, despite the daily dose of pasta, though much of that might have been sweat – Rome was experiencing record-breaking heat.

Colosseum by nightHistory was everywhere. Our flat was only two blocks from the Colosseum. That thrilled us at the beginning, and we so enjoyed Walks of Italy‘s VIP Colosseum at Night Tour, seeing the underground and arena floor. But by the end of the week it was just another building in the neighborhood – almost ho-hum.

A picture of a postcard from the Capuchin Crypt which contains the bones of 4000 monks.

A photo of a postcard from the Capuchin Crypt: contains the bones of 4000 monks.

Most of my Rome pictures are of vistas – very few intimate moments. And on some of the tours where intimacy was present, we had to make due with taking pictures of postcards we bought, like in the crypts.

Photo of a postcard from the Sistine Chapel

Photo of a postcard from the Sistine Chapel

Okay, I loved the Sistine Chapel – stunningly beautiful in person. Michelangelo painted it in just four years: 1508 – 1512. (I didn’t know that the woman behind God in the fresco of Adam’s creation was Eve.) But the rest of the Vatican and Rome was just too much. Of course in hindsight, I see that it was my fault. I came in as a tourist trying to do too much. Maybe I should give Rome another try some year.

Lemon gardenAnd what was my favorite moment? The Lemon Garden in Riomaggiore keeps coming back to me in moments of quiet reflection. It had the perfect combination of discovery, adventure (trespassing), authenticity, knock-you-out fragrance, and views of the large yellow lemons in the trees and in bags ready for market. The early morning sun was just warm enough to kiss the lemons and help release that intoxicating smell. It was reassuring to think that I might see these very lemons in the market bins in the village, later that day.

That moment was the only one I chose to seal with a purchase – lemon soaps sold in several of the shops in Riomaggiore. Now they release lemon fragrance in my small bathroom and take me back to the Lemon Garden any time.

IMG_8216What do I miss the most? The pasta! According to Siri, we can buy fresh pasta at the Farmer’s Market in Hilo. I feel a road trip coming on.

Planning your own trip to Italy? Get my Italy travel tips and my recommendations by clicking here, and send me an email with Italy Travel Tips in the subject line. I’ll even send a sample itinerary. Ciao!

 

Other essays on the Trip to Italy:

Rules for buying veggies in Venice

The sounds of Venice

Clinging to the best of the past – the Cinque Terre

Falling Asleep with Galileo – Pisa

Sensory overload in Florence

What is art anyway? Musing from Florence

The passionate Italian lives in Siena

Evening strolls in Italy

No ordinary Sunday in Rome

If you like my blog, you’ll enjoy my book, Manifesting Paradise, available on Amazon. Receive my posts automatically by filling in your email address in the “follow” box at the top of the right column. And please join my mailing list.

About Diane Scheurell

I'm a writer and author. Check out my book, Manifesting Paradise on Amazon, and my blog, ManifestingParadise.com. I talk about Hawaii and the transformation tools I used to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Digesting Italy

  1. Tommy Groth says:

    Diane, I am so sorry Rome was your least favorite city. I was totally awe struck by it. Seeing things in pictures can never ever compare with standing right there viewing them in person. And the antiquity of it all, the beautiful buildings, the sculptures, the paintings, the immense size of things not experienced before. I was awe struck. I would go to Rome again in a heart beat, but each to his own. So many factors influence how we feel about our experiences. You are so right about being right in the middle of the locals like you were in Venice. That makes all the difference in the world. I loved your pictures and writings and could hardly wait for you to post another one. I’ve been to almost all the places you visited so enjoyed hearing about them again.

    • Tommy, I am totally willing to give Rome another try but it won’t be in summer. I think half of my problem was the heat. You are totally correct about being impressed with all the things you mention – the antiquity, the beauty of the buildings, the sculptures and paintings, and the immense size. I think I just need to find the right intimate neighborhood to stay in the next time.

  2. Rachel M says:

    My favourite Italian city is also Venice and this is because there are no cars there. I didn’t realise that this was the reason I liked it so much on my first visit but the next time I went it was suddenly obvious to me. You can walk around everywhere without having to listen to traffic noise or dodge cars. Rome was also my least favourite. I found it hot, crowded, and smelly.

  3. sherbalong says:

    This is lovely.. and I do want to travel to Italy & Thailand. I couldn’t muffle my chuckle when you mentioned being spoiled by toilet accommodations – & thinking.. WELL NOT IN HONOKA’A Town you weren’t.. outside of your cozy home. However, I think you may have answered the niggling question.. Where are the bathrooms?.. Perhaps a paid toilet that could sustain itself.. Unless the HBA wants to use some of the vendor $ for facilities… see you in September ~ xo

    • The absurdity of our own hometown not having friendly toilet accommodations was not lost on me. The new Cafe Il Mondo is supposed to have public facilities, whenever that opens…See you in September.

  4. Barbara says:

    I don’t read Italian but it looks to me like the poster might be about liberating the streets FROM prostitution not FOR it! LOL!

Leave a Reply

