I have reservations…

IBC poster-v10I’m going to the 6th Annual International Beachcombing Conference along the Washington coast. It sounded like such a good idea when I signed up: a week on the mainland in the Pacific Northwest, beachcombing with my friend Deacon (Dr. Beachcomb). She assured me I’d be meeting really cool people and learning tons.

So I signed up, used frequent flyer points for my flight, and Marriott Frequent stayer points for the night in Seattle coming in and going out. And through Hotwire, I signed up for a Mystery car for $13/night. I was set. I had my reservations.

Then I got a pre-conference message from a woman who lives on the beach near the conference center. It gave me pause.

The time of the conference in early October is a tough one to predict weather-wise. We are just starting to get storms off the coast, so it could either be in the 50s with some sun and light mist or full-on-squall…Here are the key things I would bring:

* Sturdy walking shoes or boots

* Rain boots…but if you are trying to pack light, go with a smaller hiking boot

* Extra shoes, in case your beach shoes get soaked

* Good socks: cotton as well as a warmer sock…I bring an extra pair on long beach walks, in case I need to swap out.

* Jeans and or hiking pants. Bring at least two pairs, as one may get soaked if we have weather issues

* Yoga pants: Great for layering under or wearing alone. This is the Washington Coast, we have NO shame!

* Layering tops: I almost always wear a long sleeve shirt or long underwear top, a fleece and my raincoat. The fleece and raincoat are KEY out here. Be sure your raincoat is actually waterproof.

* I have a packable down jacket that I live in from about mid-September on. If you have something like that or a vest, grab it.

* Hat: it gets windy on the coast, so a hat is a must, especially for early am & pm.

* Gloves: I love beachcombing, but hate cold hands. I typically wear a light weight liner-type glove or a pair of gardening gloves when on the coast…Not a must have, but if you have some around, bring them!

* While there is a chance the weather will be “warm” it’s not really shorts weather warm. Jean and a short sleeve shirt would be as light as you would want to go. And I am not even sure about that short sleeved shirt.

I hope that helps. Really, layering is key. At least three layers for top: shirt/fleece/raincoat and making sure your shoes are meant for rough weather. Sneakers are fine if you are okay with them getting wet and have an extra pair to swap out. I like a firmer sole because out beaches are rocky and it’s easier on my feet. I also get really cold, so I tend to wear ear coverings all the time (little headband ear warmer deals), but I am a wimp.

Five layers: silk undershirt, shirt, polar-tec zippered jacket, down vest and rain jacket

Five layers: silk undershirt, shirt, polar-tec zippered jacket, down vest and rain jacket

Full-on squall? Of course, living on the wet side of the Big Island, I do have a rain jacket. But she’s talking three pair of specialized footwear and the sturdiest I have are a pair of athletic shoes. I don’t own any jeans or hiking pants (what are those?), though I’m good on the yoga pants if she means something with an elastic waistband. I did buy beachcombing gloves the last time I was out with Deacon. Thank God I didn’t get rid of my down vest, though I had planned to sell it at one of my garage sales back in Wisconsin.

She thinks she is a weather wimp. Weather is the main reason why I moved to Hawai‘i in the first place. This email scared me, but it’s too late to back out now; I have reservations.

But I also have serious reservations…

 

For more about my adventures at the IBC, see Be a kid again, The passionate beachcomber, and Blown Away – Damon Point and Ruby Beach.

 

If you like my blog, you’ll enjoy my book, Manifesting Paradise, available on Amazon. Receive my posts automatically by filling in your email address in the “follow” box at the top of the right column. And please join my mailing list.

About Diane Scheurell

I'm a writer and author. Check out my book, Manifesting Paradise on Amazon, and my blog, ManifestingParadise.com. I talk about Hawaii and the transformation tools I used to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in beachcombing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I have reservations…

  1. Barbara Cavalier says:

    Wonderful!!! Can’t wait to read more….

    Will also respond soon to your email to me just to catch up.

    Much love,

    Barbara

  2. Malia True says:

    You are good at making lemonade. I’m sure you will have a great time.

  3. Sally says:

    You are SUCH a WIMP!! But aren’t you having fun?!

  4. Kathy says:

    Diane you are so funny!!!! Going to the Seattle area in October???!!! Our daughter Erica lived in Seattle for a dozen yrs & SWORE that all the rain we heard about was just a myth – they actually had nice weather too….yeah, right. She just wanted us to visit her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

