WOO-HOO, I think

Yesterday, the Hawai‘i County Council passed Bill 113 which bans new Genetically Modified Organisms, GMOs from our island. I congratulate the council for their courageous action. They were listening to us.

However, Hawai‘i has processes I don’t yet understand. For example, I just found out that all approved bills have to be passed twice. If the council had voted this bill down, it would be dead, as they only have to kill something once. But they must take positive action twice. So the council will take up Bill 113 again at next month’s council meeting. I’m getting hopeful that this legislation will actually go through.

(For background on the Big Island’s anti-GMO legislation, see these other posts on this blog: The bounty of the Big Island, endangered; The will of the people; Responsibility for the ‘āina is personal; Does all GMO = predatory farming?; and It’s my kuleana to act…again.)

 

If you like my blog, you’ll enjoy my book, Manifesting Paradise, available on Amazon. Receive my posts automatically by filling in your email address in the “follow” box at the top of the right column. And please join my mailing list.

About Diane Scheurell

I'm a writer and author. Check out my book, Manifesting Paradise on Amazon, and my blog, ManifestingParadise.com. I talk about Hawaii and the transformation tools I used to achieve my dreams.
This entry was posted in Anti-GMO sentiment, politics in Hawaii. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WOO-HOO, I think

  1. Barbara Cavalier says:

    Fingers are crossed for round 2 for Bill 113. Thanks for helping to lead this process against GMOs.

    Barbara

    • Lead? I just called my council person, testified a couple times, gave encouragement to the bill’s author, showed up at meetings on non-testimony days so that the council knew someone was watching them…feels more like pushing from behind than leading. Thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

